The Cybercrime Law was brought to you by 7 senators & 12 congressmen

Posted at 10/05/2012 2:00 PM

With a bit more digging, I have found out SIX MORE THINGS how Congress came up with a horrible Cybercrime Law.

FIRST, we owe the present law mainly to 19 lawmakers who crafted the final version in a Bicameral Conference Committee.

The Bicam – senators and congressmen working together to hammer out one bill –was co-chaired by Senator Edgardo Angara and Congressman Sigfrido Tinga. I tried interviewing Angara, the main sponsor, last week but was told he was in Rome. I set an appointment but has yet to get word about it to date.

Senator Edgardo Angara and Congressman Sigfrido Tinga co-chaired the Bicam Conference Committee on the Cybercrime Law

The Senate was represented by Senators Angara, Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Jinggoy Estrada, Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Antonio Trillanes, Bong Revilla and Manuel Villar, according to Senate records.

Clockwise: Senators Jinggoy Estrada, Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Antonio Trillanes, Edgardo Angara (leader of the Senate contingent), Bong Revilla, Miriam Defensor-Santiago and Manuel Villar.

The House of Representatives was represented by Tinga (leader of the House contingent), Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara (Aurora), Diosdado “Dato” Macapagal, Jr. (Camarines Sur), Roilo Golez (Paranaque) Miro Quimbo (Marikina), Susan Yap (Tarlac), Ma. Rachel Arenas (Pangasinan), Eric Singson Jr. (Ilocos Sur), Teodoro Marcelino (Marikina), Mel Sarmiento (Western Samar), Cesar Sarmiento (Catanduanes) and Rufus Rodriguez (Cagayan de Oro City).

Macapagal’s mother, Congresswoman Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, was listed as one of the bill’s co-sponsors.

Congressman Angara is Senator Angara’s son who is now running for senator.