8 vie for Sandiganbayan presiding justice

Posted at 07/08/2010 7:36 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Justices of the Sandiganbayan are facing stiff competition from deputy court administrators and trial court judges for the chief position in the anti-graft court.

The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) said it has received nominations for Associate Justices Edilberto Sandoval, Gregory Ong, Francisco Villaruz, Jr. and Efren Dela Cruz.

Sandoval is temporarily the court’s chief after Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Norberto Geraldez passed away last April 4 due to pancreatic cancer.

The body that suggests names for the judiciary also received nominations or applications from Deputy Court Administrators Nimfa Vilches and Edwin Villasor.

Trial Court Judges Pedro Corales and Renato Francisco have also joined in the fray.

The new Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice will play a crucial role in cases that may be filed against former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo.