4 long weekends in 2013

Posted at 09/01/2012 12:58 PM | Updated as of 09/01/2012 12:58 PM

MANILA , Philippines - Malacañan released on Saturday the list of all declared Philippine holidays for the year 2013 with 4 long weekends.

The four long weekends will be on:

March 28-31, 2013 in observance of Holy Week;

August 24-26, 2013 for the commemoration of National Heroes Day;

November 1-3, 2013 for All Saints’ Day;

December 28, 2013 - January 1, 2014, in commemoration of Rizal Day and New Year.

Proclamation No. 459 that sets the dates for all regular holidays, special (non-working) days, and special holiday (for all schools) was signed by President Benigno Aquino last August 16, 2012.

A. Regular Holidays

New Year's Day - January 1 (Tuesday)
Maundy Thursday - March 28
Good Friday - March 29
Araw ng Kagitingan - April 9 (Tuesday)
Labor Day - May 1 (Wednesday)
Independence Day - June 12 (Wednesday)
National Heroes Day - August 26 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day - November 30 (Saturday)
Christmas Day - December 25 (Wednesday)
Rizal Day - December 30 (Monday)

B. Special (Non-working) Days

Black Saturday - March 30
Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Wednesday)
All Saints Day - November 1 (Friday)
Additional special (non-working) days - November 2 (Saturday)
- December 24 (Tuesday)
Last Day of the Year - December 31 (Tuesday)

C. Special Holiday (for all schools)

EDSA Revolution Anniversary - February 25 (Monday)

The proclamation stated that the national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha will be declared “after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient”.