Quake hits 4 Northern Luzon provinces

Posted at 02/04/10 1:23 PM

MANILA, Philippines – A magnitude 3.9 earthquake rocked 4 provinces in Northern Luzon on Thursday morning.

According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology, the earthquake was tectonic in origin.

The tremor shook the provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra and Cagayan around 9:31 a.m.

The quake’s center was located 12 kilometers southeast of Nueva Era town in Ilocos Norte.

Intensity 4 was experienced in Sinait, Ilocos Sur while intensity 3 was felt in Vigan City and Sto. Domingo, Ilocos Sur. It was intensity 2 in Ilocos Norte, Laoag City, Abra and Cagayan.
No damages to property have been reported. Report from Randy Menor, ABS-CBN Ilocos