Team Provodnikov wants review of Bradley fight

Posted at 03/21/13 6:50 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Following Ruslan Provodnikov’s close decision loss to unbeaten American boxer Timothy Bradley, the team of the Russian boxer has asked the California State Athletic Commission to conduct a review of the bout.

“We’ve submitted a request to the Commission and to the WBO (World Boxing Organization) to review the fight,” Provodnikov’s manager, Vadim Kornilov, said in an interview with Boxing Scene

“The judges were all from California, but we don’t have a problem with them. I can see the scores they had, but we have a problem with the referee,” Kornilov revealed.

Provodnikov was a massive underdog against the undefeated Bradley, but the hard-hitting Russian nearly pulled off the upset when he came close to knocking out Bradley in the very first round.

Provodnikov connected with a huge right hand to Bradley in round one, causing the American to hold on to him. Bradley eventually collapsed to the canvas, but referee Pat Russell ruled it a slip even as Bradley fell over again when he tried to get up.

“You have to be out of your mind to rule that a slip when a guy flips over himself like that,” Kornilov said. “He made a mistake, and that mistake may have ruined Bradley’s career.”

“It was definitely a knockdown,” Provodnikov said in a separate Boxing Scene interview. “When he got upped and flipped over himself, the referee should look at that.” 

“What he did may have destroyed this guy’s career, with the punishment he took. Instead of being a warrior, if the fight was over he could have saved himself for his next fight,” he added.

Bradley was able to survive round one, but he sustained even more damage in the second round. He eventually regained control of the fight in the middle rounds, though Provodnikov forced him to take a knee in the 12th round after unleashing another barrage.

“To help out the hometown guy, he had him sent to the hospital in an ambulance and because of that, the title was taken from Ruslan,” Kornilov said.

If the referee had correctly called a knockdown in round one, the bout would have ended in a draw. As it was, Bradley was able to escape with a close decision victory.

View more