Khan never recovered from first knockdown: Roach
MANILA, Philippines – Hall-of-Fame boxing trainer Freddie Roach believes referee Kenny Bayless made the correct decision when he stopped the light-welterweight fight between American boxer Danny Garcia and British boxer Amir Khan in the fourth round.
Roach's fighter, Khan, was knocked down twice in the fourth round by powerful counter-punches from Garcia, and though the Briton was able to beat the count, Bayless decided to stop the fight.
"I think it was a good stoppage," Roach told Boxing Scene. "The referee did the right thing."
Khan was also knocked down towards the end of the third round by a thudding counter-left from Garcia.
"(Khan) never really recovered from the first knockdown," Roach admitted. "Amir never got his legs back... I almost didn't let him go out for the next round."
Khan was the better fighter in the first two rounds, surprising Garcia with his speed and even opening up a cut above his opponent’s eye.
But Garcia was able to take Khan’s shots and seized control when he dropped the British boxer in the third round.
With his victory, Garcia retained his World Boxing Council light-welterweight championship and annexed Khan’s World Boxing Association light-welterweight belt.