PBA's Salud upholds controversial call
MANILA, Philippines – PBA Commissioner Chito Salud has upheld a controversial call made by referee Manolito Quilingen towards the end of the Barangay Ginebra-Rain or Shine game last Saturday.
Quilingen called a foul on RoS center Beau Belga, awarding three free throws to Ginebra’s Mark Baracael, who wound up making all three free throws, giving Ginebra a 101-100 victory.
“(The call) was spot-on. It was the correct call,” Salud said in a press conference during the halftime of the game between Meralco and Air21 on Sunday at the Cuneta Astrodome, as quoted by PBA.ph.
Rain or Shine co-owner Raymund Yu announced immediately after the game that they will file a protest, but their complaint arrived 10 minutes past the noon deadline at Salud’s office.
“Any kind of protest must comply with procedural requirements and per league rules, must be filed by 12 noon the day after the game along with the P20,000 protest fee,” Salud said.
“It was filed out of time, beyond the 12 noon deadline, so our office has no recourse but to rule such protest as invalid,” he added. “As such, there’s no protest for our office to rule one.”
Salud stressed that the result of the game stands. “Ginebra won that game,” he said.
But he noted that the Commissioner’s Office already conducted a review of the game even without a protest being filed.
“We realize there is a greater and higher interest involved. So without giving due course to the protest, we took it upon ourselves, moto propio, to review the game, particularly the dying seconds of the game,” Salud said.
“The contact by Belga on shooter Baracael was spot-on. It was the correct call. There was contact, and league rules state that any contact on a squared up shooter that affected his ability to make the shot must be called,” he added.
“Quilingen made the correct call,” he stressed.
Salud also dismissed the controversy regarding the remaining time on the game clock. Replays showed that there were at least 1.3 seconds left after the foul, but Rain or Shine was only awarded 0.3 second.
“The time will be stopped only when the whistle is blown, not during the point of contact,” Salud explained. “Upon review, there was about 1.3 seconds, but that is not the reckoning point.”
“It is when the whistle was blown, which was with two-tenths of a second remaining. Again, as per league rules, the time was moved back to 0.3 of a second so there was no technical error committed.”
The win allowed Ginebra to improve to 3-4 this season, while Rain or Shine dropped to 4-4.